Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

11 Things Writers Say… And What They Really Mean

typewriterWriters, like any social group, have their own dialect and it’s important you understand it. Why? Well, if there’s someone you don’t want to get on the wrong side of, it’s a writer. We lead weird and unsavoury lives that don’t gel with yours. We might be up till four in the morning chasing some idea that came to us two minutes before we were meant to go to bed. Who we gonna call in the depths of despair at four am? No, not Ghostbusters. You. If you’re not nice to us.

And, frankly, that’s child’s play. I’m not above creating a villain just so I can christen them with your first name.  One who resembles the imaginary, hush-hush lovechild of Kim Kardashian and Keith Lemon. Scared? You will be. You shouldn’t put it past me to self-publish my diary on Wattpad either. This ‘special re-edited edition’ would begin the day you annoyed me, the rest of my introspective scribbles serving as a vaguely-relevant, 25 year-long flashback. So, yeah. The below is recommended reading. All we writers really want is to be understood. Is that so much to ask?

Writers in Translation

Writer says: I have a deadline.
Translation: I’m going to hunch over my laptop for twenty-four hours straight, pausing only to construct a piece of modern art out of the empty Diet Coke tins generated in the process. Requests for me to comb my hair or answer the phone will be met with a bass, inhuman growl.

Writer says: My new antagonist is an antiques dealer from Tyne and Wear.
Translation: I used to date an antiques dealer from Tyne and Wear. It didn’t work out.

Writer says: Life is good.
Translation: Remember that overdue royalties cheque? The one that was due eight months ago? It just came in the post. £17.22 and it’s all mine.

Writer says: Bonnie said the funniest thing today…
Translation: Bonnie is fictional. The line between fiction and reality no longer applies to me.

Writer says: We got the electric bill.
Translation: I didn’t land a publishing deal this month. I’m still broke and now the electric bill is here. Don’t push me.

Writer says: I cleared all the paper off the dining room table.
Translation:
I cleared the papers enough so there is a modest patch where you might rest your plate. But don’t disturb my papers.

Writer says: Ugh.
Translation:
I can’t write. I’m trash. Dan Brown is Proust.

Writer says: I got all the ink stains out of the bed sheets.
Translation: I used your credit card to buy new bed sheets.

Writer says: Want to go out for something to eat?
Translation:
Want to pay for us to go out for something to eat?

Writer says: That’s it. I’ve made the final changes to my novel.
Translation: I’ll be fiddling with the commas again in about seventeen minutes.

Writer says: I want to die.
Translation: I’ve had another rejection email. Keep me away from the medicine cabinet.

4 comments on “11 Things Writers Say… And What They Really Mean

  1. sonshinegreene
    October 28, 2015

    Awesome.

    Like

    • Helen
      October 28, 2015

      Hah. Thanks. Not sure that those who have to put up with it think it’s so ‘awesome.’ Shrug.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sonshinegreene
        October 29, 2015

        I don’t submit to places I know won’t appreciate my work. Once I quit doing that, I haven’t had a problem since. Other than that, it’s all simple enough to deal with.
        Remember the lesson of the dog: If you can’t eat it, or play with it, pee on it and walk away.

        Like

      • Helen
        October 29, 2015

        Hah, an interesting philosophy. I do like dogs…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2015 by in Author Blog and tagged , , , .
