Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

A Publishing Offer from HarperCollins

America 4

About a week and a half ago I received the best early Christmas present any author could hope for. An email from the Avon Books team at Harper Collins. They’d read my novel Milkshakes and Heartbreaks at the Starlight Diner. They thought it was witty. Totally engaging. Filled with memorable characters. They wanted to publish it and wondered if I could come to their London office for a meeting.

Once I’d recovered from a mild bout of hysteria, I agreed.

Avon Books is a digital-first imprint so this means publication is very swift. At some point in the first half of 2016 Milkshakes and Heartbreaks at the Starlight Diner will be unleashed on the masses in digital format. I’m still in shock that someone other than Mam is going to read about Esther. A waitress who wouldn’t leave me alone until I’d fully transcribed her adventures in a 1950s-themed, New York diner.

I’m not sure if or when my shock will subside but if you’d like to follow my journey towards publication, you can count on regular updates on both my Twitter feed and my author Facebook page. I know I’ll need as many people around me as possible as I move forward with this.

Whilst I’ve got you here, I’d like to say a few ‘thank yous’. I know I couldn’t have reached this point without the kindness of others.

Thanks to Gigi Woolstencroft, Helena Sheffield and Natasha Harding all of whom have been instrumental in getting my work published with Avon Books.

Thanks also to people like Nigel Floyd who offered me guidance on plotting and characters as well as friendship and support. Neil Sheppard who has tweeted words of encouragement on more than one occasion when I needed it most. Hazel Nicholson who has not only supported my non-fiction work but helped with fact-checking my fiction. Mahsuda Snaith who partnered with me to improve my work. And Nicola Doherty who was a calm and wise voice just when I needed one.

There have always been people to cheer me on in the Support for Indie Authors group on Good Reads not to mention those from the Beta Reader group who took the time to read my work and tell me what they thought. The following people took time out of their lives to bat around possible titles with me: Martin Hoscik, Toby Miller, Nathan Human and Ant Nield. My gratitude also goes to my writing partner Dean Cummings who has dedicated a lot of his time to me over the past few months.

My long-suffering husband Jo Pugh deserves a mention. Credit to him for enduring all those long conversations where I talk about my fictional characters as though they’re real people (they are to me). There are naturally a lot of friends and family to thank too. But the list is so long I think I’ll just give you a cuddle when I see you over Christmas and New Year.

To my many friends who write, this list of acknowledgements is the tip of the iceberg in terms of people I have to thank for this achievement. Which illustrates that writing is far, far, far from something you do alone.

9 comments on “A Publishing Offer from HarperCollins

  1. Sawyer
    December 21, 2015

    Just happened across this and had to say congrats! That is a wonderful Christmas present!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Helen
      December 21, 2015

      Thank you so much. It is indeed a wonderful gift and I’m so glad to be able to share it with you all!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeroen van den Hark
    December 21, 2015

    Again: great stuff. Looking forward to le grand launch!

    Like

  3. Barbara Cox
    December 22, 2015

    I can’t find the words to say how pleased I am for you. I do, of course, expect a signed (free) copy…….

    Like

    • Helen
      December 22, 2015

      Hi Auntie B, thanks for the well-wishes. I’ll give you the address of the publisher when it’s finished and you can request they make it a paperback and that they send you a free copy 😀

      Like

  4. Tim
    December 30, 2015

    Helen, I am very happy for you! Way to go.

    Like

    • Helen
      December 30, 2015

      Tim, I’m so grateful for your help and support. Thank you so much.

      Like

  5. Peter Davies
    December 30, 2015

    This is a Big Deal. Massive congratulations from all of us in HK!

    Like

    • Helen
      December 30, 2015

      Aw. Cheers Peter! Yes, Much excitement in the Pugh household this Christmas. Hope the Christmas card reached Hong Kong OK.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2015 by in Book News and tagged , , , , .
