Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

PAL-entine’s Day

palentines small

About a year ago I joined the International Geek Girl Pen Pal Club. Yes, that is a real thing. And yes, it’s awesome. A couple of weeks ago, my lovely Canadian pen pal Indiana Stock sent me the Galentine’s Day envelope above.

Just too adorable for words, really.

Her card inspired me to create PAL-entine’s Day on the 12th February. I do love the whole Galentine’s Day idea but I have a lot of male mates too, some of whom are prone to whinging when I leave them out of special occasions.

palentines collage small 1

Consequently, I created a range of PAL-entine’s cards, filled them with treats and shipped them off to a selection of my pals around the globe.

You are absolutely not permitted to ask how many chocolate hearts I ate whilst altruistically filling all these envelopes for other people. Let’s just say, I take the responsibility of maintaining my curves very seriously indeed.

pier pal1 SMALL

Thinking about my friends opening these envelopes today, I can’t help but smile. I know we seem destined for a paperless society but, I feel, letter-writing is an art form that deserves to live on.

Something very personal is transmitted in the process.

Thoughts. Feelings. News. Yes, but also an expression of who we are. Through our handwriting. Our choice of ink and paper. Even our DNA, as some of us still use the kind of envelopes you have to lick shut (we’re hygienic like that).

For all these reasons, not to mention the limitless possibilities for personalisation through stamps, stickers, illustrations, and washi tape (did I mention I was a stationery geek?), I think a hand-written letter will always mean more to us than a tweet or even a well-worded email. When you send something physical to another person, part of you travels with it. And if that makes me sound like a bit of a hippy, well, so what?

If the tie-dye T-Shirt fits, wear it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2016 by in Author Blog and tagged , , , .
