Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

5 New York Minutes With Debbie Rolf

DSC05071

As part of the ongoing research for my New York-based fiction, I’m conducting short interviews with people living in The Empire City. The first is with film editor Debbie Rolf. Originally, Debbie hails from Illinois. She spent time studying in both Prague and London before finally heading to New York where she currently works for Tribeca Digital Studios. Debbie kindly took five out of her busy editing schedule to answer a few questions about what life’s really like in the metropolis.

Helen: What kind of work do you do and why do you think New York City is the place to do it?

Debbie: I am a video editor. I freelance and have been working for a film festival for the past year or so. I think NYC is the right place to do this work because so much of the entertainment industry is based here. Personally, I knew that I would rather be here than in Los Angeles. I chose NYC over LA because of the culture. I really liked how NYC is a walking/train city (it actually reminded me of London in that respect). I’ve also lived in Miami and couldn’t stand the thought of living in another city that was so car-focused like Los Angeles. I also really like having seasons.

Other than environmental factors, I like that people do other things besides “the biz” in NYC. I love my industry and I love talking about movies and TV shows, but I also really love being around people who do something different than what I do and I find it incredibly refreshing. It helps me not live in a work bubble to be around people who do such different things. So that’s why I ended up where I am.

Helen: What’s your favourite thing about NYC and why?

Debbie: I am always finding new favorite things to do or places to hang out. That’s one of the great things about NYC, you can never really say you’ve seen it all! Recently, I’ve been spending a lot of time running along the East River park and have been going to run along the park, underneath the Brooklyn Bridge, on the weekends. I love going in the mornings when it’s not crowded, it is so peaceful and beautiful.

DSCF1047.JPG

Helen: What’s been your scariest New York minute?

Debbie:  I had a pretty scary night the first summer I moved here. I was living in a very trendy but kind of sketchy neighborhood in East Williamsburg/Bushwick, and the L train stopped at Bedford Ave. that night. The line for the bus was so crazy that I thought it would be a better idea to walk home alone at 1 am. Needless to say it was a bad idea. Nothing happened, but I was terrified the entire, time.

Helen: What do you think about the people of New York City?

Debbie: There are nice people here, and there are also a lot of terrible people here. I think what has surprised me the most are specific instances where someone has either been unexpectedly friendly or unexpectedly rude. Of lot of people here have different side hustles. Noone seems to do just one thing, and that is very inspiring.

D:DCIM101DICAMDSCI0263.JPG

Helen: And lastly, how would you sum up New York City? What’s at the heart of it?

Debbie: Oh this is a hard one. I’d probably say “hustle” actually. Hustle as in people are moving quickly, but also that people are busy and in reference to the side hustles that everyone seems to have. I don’t think there is one thing or place that is the heart of the city, folks here are too proud of their boroughs, but I think that everyone has the same spirit.

You can find out more about Debbie and her work here.

My first, New York-set novel, Milkshakes and Heartbreaks at the Starlight Diner is due to be published by HarperCollins via their Avon Books imprint in summer 2016.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2016 by in Author Blog and tagged , , .
