Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

Snail Mail Sunday: Upcycled Mail Folders

DSCF9205

It’s no secret that I love snail mail but I also love upcycling. Yeah. Bet you didn’t know that. I don’t necessarily come across as the upcycling type.

A couple of weeks ago I had fun transforming an old envelope into the above snail mail folder using stickers, stamps, scrap paper and washi tape.

snail mail and val1

I started by splitting the seams of a sturdy envelope (books always come in sturdy envelopes like this – another reason to buy books in case you needed one). I then trimmed off any excess and stuck airmail-themed washi tape around the edges of the folder.

snail mail and val2

Once the base was there, I had a merry old time covering the front with tapes, stickers and stamps.

In letter writing sets you often get the same number of envelopes as you do sheets of paper. This is insane. Who writes a one page letter? Maybe very occasionally I can be that concise if it’s just a quick note but usually I eat up all the paper in two letters or less and have a lot of leftover envelopes.

Cut spare envelopes in half and they make great pockets for the inside of mail folders like this.

I stuck an extra envelope to the back of the mail folder and slipped some tea in there as an extra treat for my penpal.

russia snail mail

I finished the folder off with red string and a wax seal. Life really doesn’t get more exciting than this.

Jocelyn over at The Reading Residence is encouraging her followers to post out snail mail this month. And I’m definitely with her on that one.

 

4 comments on “Snail Mail Sunday: Upcycled Mail Folders

  1. klff_
    March 6, 2016

    This is so awesome! I am definitely going to try something like this with my spare book envelopes!

    Like

    • Helen
      March 6, 2016

      It’s so much fun! You can also chop the envelope in half to make two mini folders.

      Like

  2. inkbiotic
    March 6, 2016

    I love these. If all post looked this beautiful, email would struggle to compete.

    Like

  3. thereadingresidence
    March 6, 2016

    It looks brilliant, what a fabulous idea! So creative and original, and I love the wax seal. Thanks so much for the mention, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2016 by in Author Blog and tagged , .
