Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

My Two-Book Deal With HarperCollins

Chicago to New York

This morning, I signed a contract for a second book with HarperCollins. So, it’s official! My first novel: Milkshakes and Heartbreaks at the Starlight Diner will be the first book in a Starlight Diner series.

Typing these words is important. It helps me believe this is really happening.

If you’d told me I’d see the words: ‘Starlight Diner Book 2’ at the top of a contract four months ago, I’d have told you to ‘give over’ (the  Yorkshire equivalent of ‘get serious’).

Nonetheless there they are.

It’s difficult to express just how excited I am about the prospect of a second Starlight Diner book. The diner may exist only in the pages of my story, but to me it feels very real. The Wurlitzer juke box. The retro-decor. The cheesecakes! And, of course, the cast of beloved characters who frequent the place. The prospect of spending more time with those ‘people’ brings a huge smile to my face.

Details about the second book, including its title and premise, are hush hush for now but I can tell you that it will be set at The Starlight Diner and written from the point of view of a new protagonist.

At the end of the first book, there’ll be a teaser hinting at who the stars of the next book are. This is perhaps evidence, if evidence were needed, that I’ve watched too many Marvel movies. But nevermind. Hopefully you’ll enjoy it anyway.

In addition to all this other news, I’ve written a short story about the opening of The Starlight Diner which I’ll be sharing with you all, free of charge, very soon.

A few ‘thank yous’ to the people who’ve helped me get to this point. I’d like to thank Gigi Croft for believing in my work and recommending my first book for publication. The team publishing my books: AvonBooksUK. My writing partner Dean Cummings and my agent Joanna Swainson. Without you all I would absolutely be drowning not waving right now. Thank you for your enthusiasm, good humour and kindness.

And, of course. thanks to my husband Jo Pugh. Jo, I’m afraid there’s likely to be a lot more talk about The Starlight Diner over the tea table. Sorry love, but, as I often remind you, you did sign up for this.

Leave a Reply

