Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

Snail Mail Sunday: Stamp Mail Art

DSCF9223

Last month, I spent some time collaging some stamps onto writing paper as part of a mail art project for one of the penpals I’ve acquired through the International Geek Girls Pen Pal Club. My penpal loved what I created so I thought I’d share the results.

snail mocking

Alongside the stamps, which are little works of art unto themselves, I used ink stamps, washi tape and punched some hearts of out magazines and newspapers to decorate the page.

DSCF9307

I always include some little bits and pieces in my letters for the recipient such as post-its, postcards, washi samples etc. I stenciled the words ‘Bits + Bobs’ onto this map-themed envelope. As you can see, I ran out of space at the end but I don’t really care about stuff like that. I think it gives it more a unique, one-of-a-kind, home-made quality. This is how I make myself feel better about my questionable art skills.

snail snow

For the finishing touches, I cut and pasted some images onto the front of the envelope (after I’d stenciled the word LETTER on it, lest my penpal was unsure of the contents) and tied the bundle up together with that red and white string that gives packages that delightful, vintage look.

I hope this inspires you to write to somebody this month. Not email. Proper paper mail that they have to scrap open with their bare hands. It’s the best kind.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2016 by in Author Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
