Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

Are you a bigger film geek than Esther?

Film Collage

Those who’ve followed me for a while know I’m something of a film geek. Before writing my first novel, I edited a film magazine and wrote a book about the important,
moral lessons learnt from some pretty questionable movies. I even met my husband at a film quiz after my team didn’t show up and I joined his.

Nearly four years later, he even proposed to me at the film quiz. Yes, over a microphone. Yes, in front of a lot of people. So film has played a bigger role in my life than my parents could have ever imagined when, back in the eighties, they used the VHS player as a cut-price babysitter.

Perhaps it’s no surprise then that the lead character in my first novel, a waitress called Esther Knight, is up on her pop-culture, particularly film. The above collage includes nods to most of the movie references in Milkshakes and Heartbreaks at the Starlight Diner, I’ve left a few out so there are one or two surprises when you actually read the book, but how many do you recognise? Are you as big a film geek as Esther and, by extension, me?

Have fun wracking your brains!

P.S. If you’re a fan of film references, quite a few pop up on the official Twitter feed for the Starlight Diner series @MilkshakesNYC. So, you know, that might be worth a look.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2016 by in Author Blog and tagged , , , .
