Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

Snail Mail Sunday: Rainbow Mail

DSCF9620

A few months ago @Awoworld sent me a letter written on coloured paper. I was amazed by the cheery impact the colour had on me as I was reading and decided to devise my own little rainbow system for snail mail.

You know, cause I’m all cool like that.

I put the package together over the course of a couple of months, writing seven mini letters on coloured paper with matching envelopes. I stenciled the initial of the colour on each envelope. Because I’m a word nerd, the contents of each envelope had to be somehow alliterative with the initial on the outside of it.

I just get cooler and cooler.

snail andrew dean and notebooks5

My rainbow system went as follows:

R / Red contained a Reply to the last letter I was sent.
O / Orange was the ‘Out and About’ envelope and contained a little letter describing a day trip I took, alongside some mementos from the the day out.
Y / Yellow contained a letter about what happened to me Yesterday.
G / Green contained a letter in which I Geeked Out about a particular subject.
B / Blue contained Bits and Bobs such as tea, stationery and a washi sample.
I / Indigo contained a list of things I am currently doing e.g. reading, writing, eating, watching, dreaming out etc.
V / Violet contained Verse – I copied out a couple of my favourite poems.

I think I may have taken geekiness to a new level with this particular snailmail creation!

snail andrew dean and notebooks6

To finish off the package I stacked the envelopes, tied them with twine and stuffed them in a larger envelope which was decorated with rainbow-themed washi tape and stickers. It was very gratefully received which is of course the best part of sending something like this through the post: knowing you’ve made someone smile.

One comment on “Snail Mail Sunday: Rainbow Mail

  1. Idle Emma
    May 2, 2016

    I think it’s a wonderful idea! And definitely cheery 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2016 by in Author Blog and tagged , , .
