Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

Adventures in American Diners

hollie diner
Whilst conducting research for my first novel, Milkshakes and Heartbreaks at the Starlight Diner, I stumbled across an incredible blog created by 25-year old, New Jersey gal, Hollie. It was immediately clear, from what she’d shared, that Hollie had been on many a vibrant adventure, and that we shared a common interest: American diners.

Overjoyed to find another individual on the planet who is as nuts about cheesecakes and milkshakes as I am, I asked Hollie if she’d mind answering a few questions about her fascination on the subject. She kindly agreed and even allowed me to share some of her photographs from the numerous diners she’s visited. Here’s what she had to say about American diners, and why she loves them.

hollie diner 3

Helen: What is it that appeals to you so much about diners?
Hollie:
I like diners because there is a little bit of everything on the menu.  In my experience, diners have some of the largest menus.  That means they are a great place to meet most people for breakfast, lunch or diner. Finally diners normally have great coffee, and I love my coffee!

hollie diner 2.1

Helen: What are your favourite things to order at a diner?
Hollie:
My favorite items to order at a diner are the Greek specialities, breakfast such as eggs or pancakes and the dessert.  Most diners have a homemade bakery section which often house the best desserts I’ve ever had.

hollie diner 2

Helen: Where is your favourite diner and why is it your favourite?
Hollie:
My favorite diner is the Jefferson Diner in northern New Jersey.  It’s a classic, retro-feel diner with a huge menu.  They have everything from breakfast to lunch to dinner, plus the best red velvet cake I’ve ever, ever eaten. Another great thing about the Jefferson Diner is the service. The waiter gave us several recommendations, especially about different cakes.  You could also tell that there were many regulars there that he knew everything about. By the end of the meal and after his recommendations, I felt welcomed and happy.

hollie diner 2.2

Helen: Diners regularly appear in pop culture, why do you think that is?
Hollie:
I think diners have been around for so long, they are a staple of our culture. They are normally inexpensive, fairly fast service and friendly. It’s almost like friendlier fast food or being in your own kitchen. Diners were also one of the first sit-down dining restaurants created in America.  They appeal to so many people.

Helen: If you opened your own diner what would be the theme/colour scheme and why?
Hollie:
I would choose a pale yellow and shiny silver scheme with a checker print floor.  I think yellow is an inviting color and I would love for guests to feel welcomed.

Helen: What is your favourite flavour of milkshake?
Hollie:
My ideal milkshake is vanilla ice cream with caramel syrup, lots of whipped cream and a cherry on top.

You can follow all of Hollie’s adventures in American diners on her blog, here.

One comment on “Adventures in American Diners

  1. Linda Davis
    May 8, 2016

    OMG she has a kitchenette! That takes me back! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2016 by in Author Blog and tagged , , .
