Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

Author Q&A: Sam Carrington

saving sophie banner

One of the wonderful things about writing books is that it puts you in touch with lots of other writers. Author, Sam Carrington is soon to be published through the same HarperCollins imprint as I have been (AvonBooksUK) and ever since we started following each other on Twitter a few months back, we’ve taken a keen interest in each other’s writing journey.

Sam’s debut psychological thriller Saving Sophie is out a week today in ebook (12th of August), closely followed by a paperback which is out in December, and she’s taken a bit of time out of her writing schedule to talk to me today about the lighter side of crime.

What do I mean by that? You’ll have to read on to see what I’m on about and to find out more about Sam’s book…

Hi Sam, thanks for taking the time to answer my questions for the blog today. I know you’ll do quite a few Q&As over the next couple of months so to mix things up I’ve thought of a few crime-related questions I don’t think you’ll be asked by other people. Starting with: what is the biggest crime against fashion you’ve ever committed? Come along now, full disclosure.

Delighted to be on your blog, Helen. And you’ve asked a great bunch of questions, I’ve had fun responding to these!

Right, biggest crime against fashion? Ooh, well there were MANY of those I’m afraid. I’d probably have to say though, that it was my ripped jeans and patchouli-soaked black cowboy bootsleather jacket, back in 1989/90 when I was a ‘rock chick’ (or so I liked to think). The jeans were only just held together by the seams, and there were SO many rips that I had to carefully feed my hand through each leg first before I could actually get into them. I don’t think the lumberjack-style checked shirts did much to complete the ensemble either! My cowboy boots with boot straps like this (pictured left) were my fave though. There are pictures of me in this get-up somewhere…

I’d like to see those pictures, this does sound pretty criminal. But you’re talking to the gal who thought it was OK to wear a pink sequin dress out clubbing in 1999, so you’re still coming out of this better than I am.

If you had to choose a criminal record – i.e. the worst song ever recorded, what song would it be and why?

The Crazy Frog/Axel F song. Oh my God. THE most annoying thing ever. When it came out my middle son loved it so much he was constantly ‘singing’ it. Then some bright-spark (a family member who will remain anonymous) gave him a ‘plush toy’ of the silly frog that played the tune –  and he took it on holiday with us to France. I wanted to rip its head off by the end of the first day!

Just to share the pain here’s the YouTube link to it.

Haha. Thanks for sharing that with us. I don’t think I’ll be clicking on that though. It seems to bring out violent tendencies in people!

Moving on swiftly from The Crazy Frog, can you tell us who your favourite fictional outlaw or criminal is? I’d have to go with The Dread Pirate Roberts, myself.

Hmmm… difficult one, but would have to say Hannibal Lecter. I did see the film before I read the books, so had Anthony Hopkins’ excellent portrayal of Hannibal in my mind as I read. I thought the character was brilliantly developed and was equally chilling and intriguing. I’m a bit fascinated by the criminal mind – probably why I ended up working with them for a time. And why I want to write about them!

The criminal mind fascinates many, you’re not alone. That’s why we can’t get enough of crime novels. But putting yourself in the shoes of those who seek justice for a moment, if you could pass a law relating to writing, what would it be? I’d probably set a legal limit on the number of adverbs permitted in one chapter. A pet-hate of mine which, by the by, my husband thinks is insane.

No flowery descriptions that go on paragraph after paragraph. I mean, really – is there any need? I skim-read if I see a block paragraph of description.

Haha. Yes I seem to remember getting a bit frustrated with The Grapes of Wrath on that score. Of course, everyone else thinks it’s a classic but what do they know?

Now, I’m sure being a crime writer has its perks but I I always imagined one of the biggest would be the ability to always win at Cluedo. Is this stereotype (in my head) true? And if so how seriously do you take the game?

I LOVE Cluedo, and of course I’m good at it 😉 And I win every time. That could be because I play against my kids though – and distract them as much as possible throughout the game to make them lose concentration. Oh, and I make sure I drag them to a room that’s of no use to them (in the game – not physically drag them!) to prevent them getting the info they’re after. I keep careful note of what each of the players have shown me and each suggestion made because my memory is rubbish. Erm… so yep – I guess I take it pretty seriously. And yes, that answer has helped support your stereotype!

Wow. I hope your kids don’t read this and find you out… or maybe I do.

And lastly, if you went missing (I’m not wishing for this, I promise, it’s just for giggles), which fictional detective would you want on your case?

If I can’t have Liam Neeson’s character from Taken, then I’d settle for Sherlock Holmes. He’s so astute and would pick up on all the small clues that others might miss. I love his ability to observe people, and his logical reasoning is awesome. He’d definitely find me.

You’re right, he totally would. Thanks for taking the time to visit the blog today.

Saving Sophie is out in ebook on the 12th of August 2016.
You can find out more about Sam and her writing on her blog which is here.

saving sophieBlurb
A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.

A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and I Let You Go.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2016 by in Author Blog and tagged , , , , , .
