Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

New Year, New York: There’s No Place Like Home

dscf7853

My second novel: Secrets and Fries at the Starlight Diner, takes place over the festive period and, at the beginning of the story, the lead character Bonnie Brooks is struggling to find her place in the world . She’s between apartments, on the run and unable to turn to her family for help. More than anything Bonnie just wants to find a safe space to rest and regroup.

In the odd way in which life can reflect art, and vice versa, I found myself in a state of flux when it came to my own living arrangements over the Christmas period. Due to my husband’s job, we had to move house at pretty short notice from York to London. The removal van arrived on the 22nd of December and delivered all our belongings at the new flat on the 23rd December. It was an unwelcome but necessary shift. It was painful to once again see my life boxed up into dull cardboard; a sight I feel I’ve seen too many times in my life. Certainly, I’ve watched that happen more times than I’d like.

dscf1582

In truth, much like it has for Bonnie, home has proven rather elusive to me. I’ve never owned my own property out right and have lost count of the number of house moves, even within a given city. One of my aunts used up the whole ‘C’ portion of her address book just trying to keep track of where I was living. And as a result it’s been difficult to feel a sense of belonging anywhere except around the streets and rivers and hills of Yorkshire, where I grew up.

With this in mind, I suppose it’s not all that surprising that I created the Starlight Diner, a fictional, 1950s-themed eatery situated on East Houston Street, New York. Let’s put a pin in the fact that I’m generally obsessed by food. The Starlight Diner is a place where all are welcome and where even strangers can find a home. It’s a quest I’m still on myself and the other day I penned this poem on the topic. It’s just a first draft, complete with crossings out but worth sharing, I think (and yes, those are Yellow Brick Road nails).

dscf1680Fellow author, Helen Fields accused me of being an optimist after reading the Starlight Diner series. She’s a very smart lady, and I guess I can’t deny it any longer…

I enjoy giving my characters happy endings. Especially when it comes to finding a place they belong. Maybe I relish this even more because in that respect, I’m still working on my  own happy ending. Still, just like my characters I’m on a journey, and each step I take on that journey is an important one, whether I realise it or appreciate it or not at the time. We can never know exactly where life will lead us next. We just sort of have to trust that day by day we’re where we’re meant to be and express as much gratitude as we can for what we’ve been given.

The first two books in the Starlight Diner series are out now.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2017 by in Author Blog and tagged , , , , , .
