Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

Getting Back to Baking: Ginger Cake

dscf1738

As a writer, I spend most of my week staring at my laptop and consequently at the weekends, I try to focus on activities that don’t involve a computer screen. Journaling, walking and writing letters to my penpals feature regularly but for 2017, I’m also getting back into baking.

dscf1750

I’ve always found baking really relaxing but the kitchens in the properties we’ve rented haven’t been conducive to my cooking style. i.e. they’ve been small, which means it is difficult for me to use every pot and pan available and still have room to work.

dscf1754

But over Christmas we moved to a new property in North London where the kitchen is much more spacious. This means more baking. I’ve done the calculations, and this also means more cake.

dscf1757

I received this new hand mixer for Christmas and got an inordinate amount of pleasure trying it out for the first time this weekend.

dscf1768

It had been a while since I’d put my apron on, so I started off simple with a ginger loaf (drizzled with lemon icing) but the big life goal for 2017 is to perfect my own Jam Roly-Poly recipe.

Yes, that is an achievement I consider worthy of the term ‘life goal.’

What about it?

dscf1771

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2017 by in Author Blog and tagged , .
