Author: Helen Cox

Helen Cox is a UK author. She made her on-screen debut in The Krankies in 1990. Given the choice, her Mastermind topic would be Grease 2 and when someone asks her if she is a god she says 'yes.' Oh, you want to know about her books? Best click some of the links below.

Daffodils at Imbolc

closeddaffssmall

When my husband proposed a few years back, our Mam presented me with a glass vase. It was given to her by her Nana, and she had decided to pass down to me.

“It’s for when Jo buys you flowers,’ she said.

I didn’t have the heart to tell her that Jo was very unlikely to do that. Not because he doesn’t want to, but because he knows I am averse to having cut flowers in the house. I don’t know whether it’s because of my spirituality or my Yorkshire roots or the fact that I was once a teacher but as a general rule I like to see things grow. Flourish. Blossom. And once you cut a flower it can’t do that for very long.

daffsvase

I allow myself to break this rule once a year, and that is around Imbolc, when I bring daffodils into the house. Looking into their sunny yellow faces makes me smile and brings me hope. They are a reminder that spring is on her way.

Moreover, it feels right to let my Nana’s vase (pictured on the left, the other ‘vase’ is just an empty pasta sauce jar I washed out) fulfill its purpose at least once a year…

34

An hour after I put the daffodils in water this afternoon, yellow petals were beginning to emerge. Resonating perfectly with the time of year. Imbolc translates as ‘in the belly of Mother Earth.’ A time when seeds start to stir in the soil. A time of promise.

One comment on “Daffodils at Imbolc

  1. Daniel Nicholas
    February 1, 2017

    I feel the same about cut flowers – nice plants are great but cut flowers always seem like they are just waiting to die

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2017 by in Author Blog and tagged , , .
